Bread and Butter Pudding

When I think of bread and butter pudding, I am taken back to my childhood and to my mom’s youngest sisters home.  My mom’s sister is the type of person who will not let you leave her home without having something to eat and I have a sneaky suspicion that bread and butter pudding was her go to dish that she could whip up quickly for tea time especially when guests turned up unannounced.

For the last few weeks I have been wanting to attempt bread and butter pudding but have just been a bit lazy.  Since there seems to be only a couple more weeks of the Jozi winter to ‘endure’, I decided that today was the day that I finally got down to making it.

Now from the many recipes I looked at on the internet, I saw that traditionally, bread and butter pudding is made with raisins and ground cinnamon.  N doesn’t like cinnamon at all and I am not a fan of raisins so hence my hesitation in attempting this recipe.  I decided to make a simple pudding and use pecan nuts instead since in recent times I seem to be having a love affair with pecan nuts.

Here’s my quick and easy bread and butter pudding recipe:

Ingredients:
5 slices of bread
margarine for spreading
125ml cream
475ml of milk
2 eggs
125ml castor sugar
a splash of vanilla essence
handful of roughly chopped pecan nuts

Method:
1.  Preheat oven to 160 C
2.  Grease a meduim sized pan
3.  Spread margarine onto bread and then cut into triangles, arrange in pan
4.  Combine cream, milk, eggs, castor sugar and vanilla essence and pour over the bread
5.  Add peacn nuts
5.  Bake for 45-55 minutes until the peaks are golden brown

N who isn’t a dessert fan was hugely impressed with the way the pudding turned out.  He even went back for seconds.

Next time I attempt this recipe I want to try using chocolate croissants!!!

Leave a Reply

